Newly Elected MLA Barsha Singh Bariha Takes Oath In Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Registering a thumping victory in recently concluded Padampur bypoll in Bargarh district, Barsha Singh Bariha took oath as the Member of Legislative Assembly here today.

Speaker Bikram Keshari Arukha administered oath to the newly elected MLA in Odisha Assembly.

Barsha nominated by the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won the bypoll to Padampur Assembly Constituency with a margin of over 42000 votes defeating her BJP candidate Pradeep Purohit. The Congress’ Satya Bhusan Sahu lost his deposit in the bye-election.

While Barsha garnered 1,20,807 votes, Pradeep secured 78,128 votes and Sahu managed to receive just 3,594 votes.

The bypoll was conducted on December 5 and the result was announced on December 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *