PPA wins the 40th All India Major Ports Cricket Championship

Paradip:PPA emerged as champions at the All India Major Ports Cricket Championship  for the year 2021-22 hosted by Paradip Port Authority under the guidance of Major Port Sports Control Board today at Gopabandhu Stadium. In a well contested final, the hosts won  by defeating the Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, Kolkata. The Kolkata Port won the toss and elected to bowl first. In the stipulated 20 overs, the Hosts PPA scored 133 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Chasing the target Kolkata Port could score 126 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. This is for the first time in Major Port Cricket history, when PPA has emerged champion.

Gracing the occasion as Chief Guest, Shri P.L. Haranadh, Chairman, PPA handed over the championship trophy to the winners. He was accompanied by  Shri A.K. Bose, Dy.

Chairman, who handed over the Runners Up trophy. Shri Amit Kumar Sahu of PPA team emerged as Man of the Tournament and also the Best Batsman. Wasir Ahmed of Kolkata Port was the Best Bowler of the tournament. Retiring players of 2022 from the participating 9 Major Ports were also felicitated on the occasion.

Dr. D.P. Sethi, Working President, Gopabandhu Kreeda Sansad gave the welcome speech. Shri D.N. Sondhi, President, GKS and Shri Babul Sikdar, MPSCB member also spoke on the occasion. Shri Ranjan Rashmi Beura, Secretary, GKS compered the programme and Shri Rabi Das, Advisor, Sports offered the vote of thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *